Breakout board

Specials

Manufacturers

Viewed products

[T] - 3 Axis accelerometer, analog output

ACCELER-ADXL335

ADA163

3-axis accelerometer, +-3G, analog output, 5V compatible, ADXL335 + Pin Header

More details

In stock

20,82 € tax incl.

Description

Description

ADXL335 is a 3-axis accelerometer (Wikipedia) much appreciated because it's efficient and simple to implement. Since AdaFruit added a 3.3V regulator to it, this accelerometer has become compatible with Arduino or any other 5-volt microcontroller :-).

It's perfect for measuring static accelerations with high resolution (like a tilt type sensor). It's also suitable for measuring moderate accelerations during movement, shocks or vibrations.

Since our planet also has a gravitational acceleration (of 1G), it's possible to detect the orientation of the breakout relative to the earth with this sensor. Such an accelerometer can, for example, be used to detect the orientation of a phone screen (see this article on Wikipedia).

This will seem more obvious after reading the accelerometer calibration method (see tutorial).

This 1.9cm x 1.9cm breakout has 3 analog outputs for measuring the X, Y and Z axes. The ADXL335 component is the latest from a family of analog components recognized for the quality of their MEMS peripherals (electromechanical microsystems Wikipedia).

The VCC terminal accepts up to 5V and regulates the voltage to 3.3V (voltage also available on an output pin).

Mounting on an Arduino

The analog outputs are of the ratiometric type (ratiometric: describing a system in which an output is directly proportional to an input).
The sensor being able to measure accelerations in both directions of the axes, the output voltage at 0g ("at rest" sensor) is right in the middle between 0 and 3.3v.
During a negative acceleration (say "forward" to simplify understanding) the voltage tends from 1.65v to 0 volts. During a positive acceleration in the other direction (understand "backwards" by analogy), the voltage tends from 1.65v to 3.3 volts.

This means that a measurement at 0g is always halfway between 3.3V (or 1.65V). At -3g the voltage is at 0v and at +3g the voltage is at 3.3V (with a homogeneous distribution between voltage and acceleration).

Content

Assembled and tested, this breakout board is delivered with a 2.54mm 8-pin pinHeader (not welded). This header will allow easy insertion into a breadboard or a prototyping plate. The breakout board has 2 fixing holes of 2mm for easy mounting.

The XYZ filtering capacities are 0.1uF for a bandwidth of 50 Hz.

The axes and their positive direction are indicated on the breakout board.

Technical details

Tutoriel

Commentaires

Associated products

30 other products in the same category:

Fabricants

Déjà vus

Accéléromètre 3 Axes, sortie analogique

ACCELER-ADXL335

ADA163

Accéléromètre 3 axes, +-3G, sortie analogique, compatible 5V, ADXL335 + Pin Header

Plus de détails

En stock

20,82 € TTC

Description

Description

ADXL335 est accéléromètre (Wikipedia) 3 axes fort apprécié car il est efficace et simple à mettre en oeuvre. Depuis qu'AdaFruit lui a ajouter un régulateur 3.3V, cet accéléromètre est devenu compatible avec Arduino ou tout autre microcontroleur 5 volts :-).

Il est parfait pour mesurer des accélérations statiques avec une grande résolution (comme un senseur de type tilt). Il convient également pour mesurer des accélérations modérées en cours de mouvement, des chocs ou des vibrations

Etant donné que notre planète dispose également d'une accélération gravitationnelle (de 1G), il est possible de détecter l'orientation du breakout par rapport à la terre avec ce senseur. Un tel accéléromètre peut, par exemple, être utilisé pour détecter l'orientation d'un écran de téléphone (voir cet article sur Wikipedia)

Cela semblera plus évident après la lecture de la méthode de calibration de l'accéléromètre (cfr le tutoriel).

ce breakout de 1.9cm x 1.9cm dispose de 3 sorties analogiques pour la mesure des axes X, Y et Z. Le composant ADXL335 est le dernier issu d'une famille de composants analogiques reconnu pour la qualité de leur périphériques MEMS (microsystèmes électromécaniques Wikipedia).

La borne VCC accepte jusqu'à 5V et régule la tension à 3.3V (tension également disponible sur une broche en sortie).

Montage sur un Arduino

Les sorties analogiques sont de type ratiométrique (ratiométrique: décrivant un système dans lequel une sortie est directement proportionnelle à une entrée).
Le senseur étant capable de mesurer des accélérations dans les deux sens des axes, la tension de sortie à 0g (senseur "au repos") est pile au milieu entre 0 et 3.3v.
Lors d'une accéleration négative (disons "vers l'avant" pour simplifier la compréhension) la tension tends 1.65v vers 0 volts. Lors d'une accélération positive dans l'autre sens (comprenez "vers l'arrière" par analogie), la tension tend de 1.65v vers 3.3 volts.

Cela signifies qu'une mesure à 0g est toujours à la moitier des 3.3V (soit 1.65V). A -3g la tension est à 0v et à +3g la tension est à 3.3V (avec une répartition homogène entre tension et accélération).

Contenu

Assemblé et testé, ce breakout board est livré avec un pinHeader 2.54mm à 8 broches (non soudé). Ce header permettra une insertion aisée dans un breadboard ou une plaque de prototypage. Le breakout board dispose de 2 trous de fixation de 2mm pour facilité le montage.

Les capacités de filtrages XYZ sont de 0.1uF pour une bande passante de 50 Hz.

Les axes et leur sens positif sont indiqués sur le breakout board.

Détails techniques

Tutoriel

Commentaires

Produits associés

30 autres produits dans la même catégorie :